President's Perspective: March 2024

It was great to see so many members and new colleagues at the Annual Scientific meeting held in Brisbane in December 2023. Congratulations to Tara Walker and Tom Burne (Chairs of the Local Organising Committee) and their team, for their energy, effort and creativity that underpinned a superb scientific and engagement experience. Their success in “Exciting the Network” was also strongly supported by Jason Mattingley (Conference Executive Chair), our many exhibitors and sponsors, and the professionalism of the TAS team. The diversity and quality of neuroscience presented at the meeting was truly impressive – so thanks to all of you for coming and for so generously sharing your ideas and perspectives. The buzz surrounding informal discussions at posters, breaks and social events was a great reflection of the strength and positivity of our neuroscience community.  

I am looking forward to seeing you all again at our next Annual Scientific Meeting to be held from 2-4 December, at the Pan Pacific in Perth. This year our international plenary speaker is Professor Tracy Bale, the current President of IBRO. Discussions are already underway to embed greater engagement with IBRO in our 2024 conference program and in future ANS activities. I am sure this will be a wonderful Annual Scientific Meeting and thank the Local Organizing Committee (Co-Chairs: Sarah Helliwell, Stuart Hodgetts, Chidozie Anyaegbu, Stephanie Rainey-Smith), supported by the Conference Executive Chair (Hamid Sohrabi) for hosting this great event.  

Thank you for your support of ANS and neuroscience in 2023 and all the very best for 2024. 

Janet Keast

Prof Janet Keast

President, ANS




President's Perspectives - Past

Click Here