Distinguished Achievement Award

An occasional award for an outstanding contribution by an individual to neuroscience in Australia.

ANS Plenary Lectures and ANS Medal Lectures

ANS has five possible plenary lectures, all of which are scheduled for one hour in the annual meeting program.

Two ANS medal lectures were also introduced in 2017, The Nina Kondelos Award and the AW Campbell Award (see links below with more information), with each lecture scheduled for thirty minutes in the annual meeting program.

Past plenary lectures.

The ANS Medallion

Awarded to plenary lecturers at the ANS conference and to other individuals who have provided outstanding service to the Society.

Mark Rowe Award

Awarded annually for the best publication by an early career researcher.

A.W. Campbell Award

Awarded for the most outstanding contribution by a member of the Society in their first five postdoctoral years

Nina Kondelos Award

Awarded to a female neuroscientist for outstanding contribution to basic or clinical neuroscience research.

Paxinos-Watson Award

Awarded annually for the most significant neuroscience paper published in the previous year by any member of the Society.

Marcello Costa Award

This annual Award is for the best publication on neural regulation of organs by an early career researcher member of the Society.

Education Excellence Award

Recognises an individual or team who/that has made outstanding contributions to neuroscience education in Australasia.