

ANS2020 Conference and AGM

9th December 2020 (10-5:30pm Australian EDST)

We thank our sponsors:





MEMBERS CAN REGISTER FREE IN THE MEMBERS ONLY SECTION OF

THE ANS WEBSITE.

PROGRAM:

10:00-10:15am: Prof Cliff Abraham and A/Prof Kaylene Young ANS President and Conference Executive Chair Welcome Delegates
10:15-10:45am: Chair – Dr Hamid Sohrabi (ANS Regional Representative for WA) Dr Robyn Brown - 2020 A.W Campbell Award Lecture Title 'Why do we overeat? Unravelling the neural mechanisms underlying maladaptive eating behaviour'
10:45-11:15am: Chair – Dr Kristin Hillman (ANS Regional Representative for NZ) Prof Kay Double - 2020 Nina Kondelos Plenary Lecture Title: Hiding in plain sight – what does a new pathology mean for Parkinson's disease aetiology?

11:15-12:15pm:*Chair – Dr Ann-Maree Vallence (Chair of ANS2020 Perth LOC)* **Prof Kate Drummond** – ANS2020 Eccles Plenary Lecture Title: Quality of Life in Brain Tumour Patients - Do we understand it and what can we do about it?

12:15-12:45pm: Lunch break / Break-out chats

- 12:45-1:15pm: *Chair A/Prof Alison Canty (ANS Regional Representative for Tasmania)* **Dr Philip Ryan** – 2019 A.W Campbell Award Lecture Title: The neurocircuitry of fluid satiation
- 1:15-1:45pm:Chair Dr Nathalie Dehorter (ANS Regional Representative for ACT)Prof Erica Fletcher 2019 Nina Kondelos Plenary LectureTitle: The role of microglia in regulating retinal homeostasis

1:45-2:30pm: Chair – Mr Amr Abdeen (ANS Student Representative) PhD student 3-minute thesis finalists



- 1) Indra Choudhury, Griffith University
- 2) Andres Vidal-Itriago, Macquarie University
- 3) Megan Bakeberg, University of Western Australia & Perron Institute
- 4) Anastazja Gorecki, University of Western Australia & Perron Institute
- 5) Sophie Mathiesen, University of Otago
- 6) Jessica Madden, University of Newcastle
- 7) Sarah Thomas Broome, University of Technology Sydney
- 8) Nia Lopez, University of Newcastle
- 9) Jessica Moretti, University of Western Australia & Perron Institute
- 10) Leanne Jiang, University of Western Australia & Perron Institute
- 2:30-3:00pm: Tea break
- 3:00-5:00pm: Chair Prof Thomas Fath (ANS Secretary)

ANS Annual General Meeting

Announcement of ANS Award recipients Announcement of 3MT competition winners

A/Prof Jess Nithianantharajah and Dr Tobias Merson

Looking Forward to ANS2021 in Melbourne

Prof Peter Schofield

ANS President's Closing Remarks