The Nina Kondelos Prize is awarded to a female neuroscientist for outstanding contribution to basic or clinical neuroscience research. The Nina Kondelos Prize was made possible by a donation to the Society by Professor George Paxinos, and it is named after his late sister. The Nina Kondelos Prize was awarded for the first time in 2007 at the IBRO2007 World Congress of Neuroscience in Melbourne. Successful nominees will receive a certificate and prize money of $500. The winner will be invited to present the Nina Kondelos Award Lecture during the 2020 Perth ANS meeting.

Rules for the Nina Kondelos Prize

1. The nominee must be a female member of ANS and the achievement must be in the field of neuroscience.

2. The nominee must not have received other major national or international prizes such as the PM's Prize, Ramaciotti and Glaxo.

3. Each nominee must be proposed by one nominator, who must also list three supporters. Nominator and supporters must be members of ANS.

4. The nomination must include a 1 page description of achievement and a 3 page CV.

5. The prize shall be judged by a committee appointed by Council.

How to Apply

Nominations for the Nina Kondelos Award for 2019 are due by 24 July 2019 and should be submitted to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Applicants must be Members.

Previous Winners

  • 2018 - Janet Keast
  • 2017 - Ulrike Grünert
  • 2016 - Naomi Wray
  • 2015 - Cindy Shannon Weickert (pictured)
  • 2014 - Jillian Kril
  • 2013 - Louise Nicholson
  • 2012 - Margaret Morris
  • 2011 - Glenda Halliday
  • 2010 - Linda Richards
  • 2009 - Sarah Dunlop
  • 2008 - Sandra Rees
  • 2007 - Judy Morris