

Australian Neuroscience Society

Newsletter

No. 2

August, 2008

www.ans.org.au

President's Perspective

Steve Redman. It gave me great pleasure to extend the Society's congratulations to Steve Redman on the occasion of the award of the Order of Australia in the Queen's Birthday Honours List. The award was made "for service to medical science, particularly in the field of experimental neuroscience as an academic and researcher and through contributions to professional organisations." Steve served as President of ANS from 1992-1993, received the Society's Distinguished Achievement Award in 2000, and currently serves as the Treasurer of IBRO.

Jacqueline Phillips. ANS Council was also delighted to learn that the ANS Treasurer, Jacqueline Phillips, has been promoted to Professor and appointed as Foundation Director of the Institute for Medical Research at Murdoch University.

Australian Brain Bee Challenge (ABBC). I was pleased to accept an invitation from Linda Richards to help present the prizes at

the Queensland Final of the 2008 Australian ABBC on 24 June. The excitement and enthusiasm of the 100 individual and team finalists, who came from afar field as Cairns, were quite palpable, and this scene was duplicated at State Finals all over Australia, and in Auckland and Otago. As this newsletter goes to press, the 2008 National Final of ABBC is being held at the Queensland Brain Institute on 3-4 August, and ANS Council agreed to sponsor the travel and accommodation costs of the winners of the Individual Competition from each State Final (and their accompanying adults). In addition, Carl Zeiss Australasia and ANS will co-sponsor the cost of sending the winner of the National Final to compete in the International Final in North America. The

2007 National Final of ABBC was held at the IBRO Congress in Melbourne and the National Finals will be returning to ANS Meetings in the future, with the 2009 National Final to be held at the 2010 ANS Meeting in Sydney.

ERA Initiative. Last year, Glenda Halliday made a submission on behalf of ANS to the aborted Research Quality Framework regarding the ranking of neuroscience journals. The submission was put together by Paul Martin and he has kindly agreed to chair a small committee of ANS members to evaluate the proposed ranking of neuroscience journals for the Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) Initiative. The aim of the pending ANS submission, due on 14 August, will be to ensure that neuroscience has an equivalent proportion of core journals ranked as A+ or A as other major areas of biomedical science. While the committee is broadly based, anyone who wishes to comment on the ERA ranking of particular neuroscience journals should contact Paul directly at primar-tin@unimelb.edu.au.

2009 Presidential Symposium. The 2008 ANS Meeting in Hobart included the Inaugural Presidential Symposium, which was a two-hour plenary session featuring four recent winners of the AW Campbell Award. At the 2009 ANS Meeting in Canberra, the Presidential Symposium will feature four full-time teaching academics, who have been appointed in the last five years at the level of Lecturer or Senior Lecturer. Self nominations are encouraged and can be made either to your State Representative on ANS Council, or directly to myself.

Australian Course in Advanced Neuroscience (ACAN). The 2008 Course received \$10,000 sponsorship from ANS and I was delighted to visit Moreton Bay Research Station on 22 April and talk to the students and faculty. John Bekkers, the Course Director, did an outstanding job as usual

and he was ably assisted by faculty from JCSMR, QBI and other institutions throughout Australia.

ANS Executive. With the almost complete turnover of the ANS Executive in February, the new Officers have been thrown in the deep end of the Society's affairs, and we are very grateful to our predecessors for providing continuing advice and encouragement. Our tasks are also made much easier by the efficient services provided by Sally and Chris Jay, whose corporate memory is invaluable.

David Vaney 26 July 2008



David Vaney and Qld Brain Bee 2008 winner - Casey Linton.

Contents

- 1. President's Perspective
- 2 ANS 2009 Canberra
- 3 Plenary and Symposia details
- 4 Satellite details
- 5 News of interest to members
- 6 Future ANS Meetings
- 7 Other Meetings
- 8 Timetable of Meetings and Courses
- 9 Research Fund Donations
- 10 Policy on email circulation
- 11 ANS website and newsletter items.
- 12 Deadlines for future ANS newsletters

ANS PRESIDENT:

Professor David Vaney Queensland Brain Institute University of Queensland Queensland 4072

Tel: +61-7-3346-6334 d.vaney@uq.edu.au

ANS SECRETARY:

Dr Ann Turnley Centre for Neuroscience University of Melbourne Victoria 3010

Tel: +61-3-8344-3981 turnley@unimelb.edu.au

ANS TREASURER:

Dr Jacqueline Phillips Division of Health Sciences Murdoch University Western Australia 6150

Tel: +61-8-9360-2257 j.k.phillips@murdoch.edu.au

ANS EDITOR:

Professor David Small Menzies Research Institute 199 Macquarie Street Hobart, Tasmania 7000

Tel: +61-3-6226-7700 d.h.small@menzies.utas.edu.au