Mark Rowe Award

Mark Rowe Award

The Mark Rowe Award commemorates the late Australian Professor of Physiology whose major research contributions concerned the neural coding mechanisms and central processing mechanisms of mechanosensory sensation. This Award was established in Mark's name by his wife, Jan Rowe, in 2013. It is awarded annually for the best publication by an early career researcher member of the Society.


1. The award will be made for a first or senior author publication based on research completed as a PhD student or postdoc, and published within 3 years of the award of PhD (considering career disruptions)
2. Joint first or senior author publications will also be considered.
3. The application must refer to a publication with an electronic or hard publication date (whichever is the earliest) of 2016 as indicated on the published manuscript
4. Funds should be used for travel to a conference or collaboration.

How to Apply

Applications should include
1. Statement of date of award of PhD.
2. PDF of publication.
3. Short statement of publication's significance.

Nominations for the Mark Rowe Award for 2017 are due by 30th June 2017 and should be submitted to the ANS Secretary Kay Double. Applicants must be Members in good standing on the 30th June in the year of nomination.

Past Winners


Moones Heidari, Daniel M. Johnston, and Liz Milward. Brain iron accumulation affects myelin-related molecular systems implicated in a rare neurogenetic disease family with neuropsychiatric features. Molecular Psychiatry 21, 1599-1607 (2016).


Kalina Makowiecki, Alan R. Harvey, Rachel M. Sherrard and Jennifer Rodger. Low-intensity repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation improves abnormal visual cortical circuit topography and upregulates BDNF in mice. Journal of Neuroscience 34, 10780-10792 (2014)

Mehdi Adibi, James S McDonald, Colin WG Clifford and Ehsan Arabzadeh. Adaptation improves neural coding efficiency despite increasing correlations in variability. Journal of Neuroscience 33, 2108-2120 (2013)

Mehdi Adibi receiving his award from the ANS President, James Vickers


Xin Du, L. Leang, T. Mustafa, T. Renoir, T.Y. Pang and A.J. Hannan. (2012) Environmental enrichment rescues female-specific hyperactivity of the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal axis in a model of Huntington’s disease. Translational Psychiatry 2:e133